Illinois Defense Lawyers
Misdemeanors Defense Attorney Illinois
Misdemeanors Defense Attorney in Illinois. While misdemeanors are not as severe as felonies or violent crimes, they can still carry hefty punishments, which can include jail time. If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor, you need a knowledgeable, straightforward and experienced Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney on your side to challenge the case in court and mitigate any potential consequences. Drummond Law has been defending the rights of individuals in Illinois and throughout the Midwest since 1976. Call a Drummond Law Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney today at 217-388-1103 or contact us online for a free consultation and to get the best possible results in your case.
Types of Misdemeanors Your Misdemeanors Defense Attorney in Illinois Can Help With
In Illinois, as in most states, a misdemeanor is an offense that violates a statute and can be punishable by no more than one year in jail. Most of the time, unless there are certain aggravating factors in your case, an experienced misdemeanors defense attorney in Illinois will be able to get your charges reduced. There are three classes of misdemeanor in Illinois, Class A being the most serious and Class C having the lightest penalties.
Class A misdemeanors include:
- Driving offenses, such as a DUI, driving with a suspended license, leaving the scene of an accident with property damage, or driving without a license or with a revoked or suspended license
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a police offer
- Selling liquor to a minor
- Possession of alcohol by a minor
- Assault and battery, depending on the specifics of the case
- Violating a protection order
- Permitting or failing to report sexual abuse of a child
- Retail theft
- Unlawful possession of a firearm
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
Class B misdemeanors include:
- Driving 26 MPH over the speed limit or more
- Computer tampering
- Criminal damage to or trespassing on property
- Harassment by electronic communication
Class C misdemeanors include:
- Assault (apart from aggravated assault}
- Improper use of registration
- Use, sale, or delivery of intoxicating compounds
- Allowing a minor under the age of 14 unsupervised access to a firearm
Penalties for Misdemeanors in Illinois
As Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious, they carry harsher penalties than Class B, which carries harsher penalties than Class C. Without the aid of a veteran and knowledgeable Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney, your sentence could include:
|Class||Jail Time||Fine||Illinois Compiled Statute|
|Class A Misdemeanor||Up to 1 Year||$75 – $2,500||730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-55|
|Class B Misdemeanor||Up to 6 Months||$75 – $1,500||730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-60|
|Class C Misdemeanor||Up to 30 Days||$75 – $1,500||730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-65|
If there were procedural errors in your case or other factors that violated your rights, your Drummond Law misdemeanors defense attorney in Illinois may be able to get your case dismissed entirely. If not, they will still be able to significantly reduce the charges so you face the least amount of punishment possible. We are always honest with our clients and give you all the information and guidance you need to make the best decision for your and your family. Alternatives to jail time include probation or paying restitution to the alleged victim. A Drummond Law misdemeanors defense attorney will know the best way to move forward in your specific case.
When Misdemeanors Can Become Felonies in Illinois
Certain crimes may be typically classified as misdemeanors but become felonies under specific circumstances:
- It is not the first time the offender has violated the same statute.
- A weapon was involved, for example turning a simple battery into aggravated battery.
- The offense was committed at a particular location, of example a school, place of worship or domestic abuse shelter.
Regardless of the complexities of your case, an Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney at Drummond Law will fight on your behalf to ensure the charges brought against you have the least amount of impact on your life as possible.
Expunging or Sealing the Record of a Misdemeanor Charge | Illinois Misdemeanor Defense Attorneys
Even if you were convicted for a misdemeanor, most charges can either be expunged, meaning that their existence will be wiped from your records, or sealed, meaning that only law enforcement agencies will have access to them — not potential employers, landlords or any other member of the general public. There are some exceptions, for example minor traffic offense convictions or most sexual crimes. If you have already been convicted of a misdemeanor, call an Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney at Drummond Law today to discuss your options for getting the charges off your record.
Is There a Statute of Limitations on Misdemeanors in Illinois? | Illinois Misdemeanors Defense Attorney
Yes. According to 720 ILCS 5/3-5, prosecutors may not bring a charge against you if the offense occurred more than 18 months prior to the date that they file the charges.
Illinois Misdemeanors Defense Attorney | Drummond Law
We tend not think of people who commit misdemeanors as “criminals,” however are still legal consequences for misdemeanors that could include jail time. Even if you don’t go to jail, a misdemeanor conviction may still have implications for your finances and your reputation. At Drummond Law, we have founded our misdemeanor defense attorney team on the belief that everyone has the right to a fair trial and should have access to the highest quality legal representation available. When you hire us, we put your needs first and stand by your side for the duration of your case. If you’re facing misdemeanor charges, call a Drummond Law Illinois misdemeanors defense attorney today at 217-324-2323 or contact us online for a free case review.